Family Weekend

Time seems to have gotten away from me this last week. It’s amazing how quickly time passes by these days. Am I the only one that remembers how slow it dragged by when we were younger? I was always dreaming of being grown up and getting away. I never realized that it would happen so soon…

We had quite a busy weekend. MIL came to fetch me and the munchkin on Thursday to spend the night at their place. It was LO’s first time away from home and his daddy since the hospital, but of course, he wasn’t even phased. I bet he didn’t even know what was going on, although I’m sure he noticed all the extra attention, because SIL was also there with her 3YO.

SIL made me a bit uncomfortable as she kept on making snide remarks about how all the attention was on me now and how they were being neglected. I don’t think she really meant it, but still… what exactly am I supposed to say to that? It’s like she thinks I got pregnant just so I could take all the attention away from her and her son! I’m not going to deny that I do enjoy the attention, but I enjoy it for LO’s sake, not my own. I would actually prefer less attention on myself, thank you very much!

Anyway, I spent most of Friday day in the room as I wasn’t really in the mood for small talk and only left the room when I took LO out to be with his grandma, who is awesome. Grandpa on the other hand pissed me off quite a bit. He isn’t really into his grandkids when they can’t walk or talk, which I can respect. There’s not much to do with them at that age, to be honest, so I can understand that he doesn’t really seem bothered with LO. However, please don’t call my son ‘it’ and ‘the infant/offspring’. He has a name!

Hubby came through Friday afternoon, so then it got a bit better as I was able to unwind a bit. I vented a bit and he took it all in his stride. He even agreed with me on his sister’s attitude. He was being a bit soppy because he seriously hates spending nights alone. I wasn’t too lonely as I had LO in bed with me and he slept awesome, so I wasn’t even tired.

On Saturday we drove through to Darling to meet up with my side of the family. Yes, I do sometimes visit my dad and step family, even after our history. It’s not pleasant and I try to space the visits out long enough so that I have time to get over the last one. They don’t really do anything, but stepmonster always makes snide remarks and tries to make me feel bad… which she normally achieves. She mostly picks on my weight, but of course, now she has new ammo in the form of my little boy, which has inadvertently become another weapon in her arsenal.

First she insisted that I was spoiling him by carrying him in a sling and letting him sleep on me. Then she made a nasty comment that his nose looked non Caucasian and asked if I was sure hubby was the dad. Are you serious? Of course I’m fucking sure he’s the dad! Excuse my language, but what the hell kind of question is that anyway? And what are you trying to say about my son’s looks?

At least that visit is over now and hopefully I won’t have to see them again until September, when my youngest stepsister is getting married. She’s the only one on that side of the family that I can handle and even like a bit. She’s not as judgmental and doesn’t really gossip as much, although she is her mother’s daughter and hasn’t completely escaped some bad influences.

I guess seeing as we saw the whole family this weekend I should make time to see my mom as well, but for some reason my phone has been reset and I don’t have connectivity and I’ve lost most of my numbers, including my mothers, so I keep forgetting to redo that and then that leads to me not calling my mom and it’s all just a snowball. Not that I’m broken up about not seeing my mom. I’m actually quite dreading it because I don’t know what her situation is at the moment. She’s a drifter when it comes to work, you see. And if she doesn’t like a particular job, she’ll leave without getting a new job, so then she needs money and I’m normally her first point of contact, but the last time she asked, I refused, so she’s been very quiet since then.

I used to always cave and give her money and she owes me tons, but then I remembered that I really don’t owe her anything and stopped. Yeah she’s my mother, but she abandoned me and my sister with my dad when we were like 5 and went off to enjoy her life. I don’t know why I let her guilt me, but I have always been a soft hearted person. And I have special weaknesses when it comes to family, whether I like them or not. Besides, I’m the one supposed to be asking her for help, aren’t I?

So yeah, that’s been my last couple of days. LO got his first immunizations today, and apart from a minute bout of crying as it was happening, he wasn’t bothered at all. He’s really an amazing little creature and I count my blessings all the time. I don’t know what I did to get so lucky, but thank God I did!

I’m not even sure I’m doing the right thing in immunizing him, as I’ve been reading all kinds of things on the internet about how it can cause autism. There are a lot of opinions out there, but in the end, I want to give him the best start I possibly can, and in my mind, if I can prevent some diseases by getting him these immunizations, then hell, I guess we’ll just have to take things as it comes. I might not be the biggest or best Christian out there, but I do believe in God, and I’ve always believed that he would never put more on your plate than you can handle.

Leave a Reply

