Amazing mother instincts!

I’d like to tell you all about a phenomenon that I find amazing.

I’m a sleeper. I love sleeping and I can sleep through most everything. I could sleep for 10 hours without waking. You might think that’s excessive, and you’d be right, but that’s me.

When I was pregnant, I was scared that I wouldn’t be able to wake up when baby cries and I would sleep right through it. I mean, even in pregnancy, I slept like a log, not even fully waking up to go to the loo in the inevitable later stages when you pee every 5 seconds.

Even though everyone told me that my mothering instinct would kick in and I wouldn’t sleep through my baby crying, I didn’t believe them. Nobody really knows how much and how deep I really sleep. Except my husband and even he told me not to worry. Although he did say that I shouldn’t worry because he would wake up and then wake me up.

And then I gave birth. I could understand not sleeping through at the hospital, because baby slept in my arms and I never really slept. There’s some kind of chemical reaction apparently that allows you to cope with about 3 hours sleep the first couple of days. I’m not sure if that’s true, but I read it somewhere (and of course I can’t find it now!). It’s probably adrenaline…

Anyway, the first night home I was really nervous. I was exhausted after the hospital and I was on some pretty awesome painkillers because of my cesarean, so I was sure it was going to be a mission waking up when baby woke up. I could feel one of my epic sleep sessions coming on and I wasn’t even sure that hubby would be able to wake me up when the time came!

And then it happened. I was in a well deep sleep, probably drooling all over my pillow, and then suddenly I wasn’t. I woke up and the room was quiet. I was confused for about 5 seconds, and then I heard baby moving around in his crib (we had it next to the bed for convenience).

HOLY SHIT! Baby wasn’t even awake yet, and I had woken up out of a sound sleep because my body was intuitively attuned to his signals that he was about to wake up! Is that even real? I still haven’t had time to ask if it happens to everybody, but that it happened to me… that’s just a miracle!

Sure enough, as soon as I got out of bed to check on the munchkin, he mewled for the first time and tentatively opened his big brown eyes (I still can’t get over his gorgeous big brown eyes!). I picked him up and settled on the bed with the feeding pillow and popped my boob in his mouth. He drank his fill, I burped him, put him back in his cot, and that was it. Hubby didn’t even wake up!

I couldn’t believe it. Here I was, one of the deepest sleepers I know, and I woke up at the mere feeling that my baby was waking up. How awesome is nature? I had always been skeptical that I even had mother instincts, being quite selfish with how I spent my time and how much I loved my sleep etc. and here it hit me so full in the face that I’m left gaping with amazement!

Hubby was also just as surprised. I think he might have been a little disappointed that he hadn’t woken up and I did… he might even be questioning everything he thought he knew about our relationship! But I’m so happy. Even now, 2 months down the line, I’ll just suddenly wake up out of a deep sleep and little one will just be moving around in his cot, not even making any noises, but waking up as soon as I pick him up and eager for a boob!

I don’t even really miss my epic sleep sessions, because I follow good advice and sleep when baby is sleeping… it’s as good a reason as any to get a maid instead of cleaning the house myself!

Leave a Reply

